Perception & Action

By Gurudevi Nirmalananda 

Yoga says we have ten senses, not merely the five about which I learned in 7th grade science class.  Your senses of sight, sound, smell, touch and taste are called the j~nanendriyas in Sanskrit.  They are modes of perception.  Your senses reach out to explore the world.  Your mind follows them and you try to construct a sense of self out there. Unfortunately, you have lost your core being, what yoga calls your capital-S Self.

You have five more ways of getting lost, all of them mesmerizing capacities.  These are the five modes of action, called karmendriyas:  locomotion, handling, speaking, sexuality and excretion.  They take up a tremendous amount of mind-space, especially if you’re having trouble in any of these areas in life.  

Yoga says that you are the perceiver, not what you perceive.  Whatever you are seeing or hearing, as well as what you are doing, you are the one who is experiencing it.  You are the experiencer, not the experience.  You are the doer, not the action or its results.  Know who you are, even while you are perceiving and acting, and you are…

This entry was posted in Ashram News on by .

About Swami Nirmalananda

Serving as the Master Teacher, Swamiji is a teacher of the highest integrity for over 35 years. Formerly known as Rama Berch, she is the originator of Svaroopa® yoga as well as the Founder of Master Yoga and of Svaroopa® Vidya Ashram. In 2009 she was honored with initiation into the ancient order of Saraswati monks. Now wearing the traditional orange, she has openly dedicated her life to serving others. Usually called Swamiji, she makes the highest teachings easily accessible, guiding seekers to the knowledge and experience of their own Divine Essence.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s